Q. Where can I find information about food identity standards?


The FDA has 300 identity standards in 20 categories of food. The standards are listed in 21 CFR Parts 130 to 169. If a particular food does not have a standard of identity, 21 CFR 102 may apply. The USDA Agricultural Marketing Service provides commercial item descriptions (CIDs) that concisely describe the most important characteristics of a commercial product. CIDs are procurement documents, not regulations for manufacturers.

  • Last Updated Apr 10, 2018
  • Views 3
  • Answered By Gwen Sinclair

FAQ Actions

Was this helpful? 0   0

Submit a Question